leestoneauthor

It is all very well to be able to write books, but can you wiggle your ears?

Here’s a weird thing.

When I first started writing, I sent the first draft of Fearless to my now agents at Darley Anderson much earlier than I should have done. It was a really rough edit and nowhere near ready for anyone else to see. In truth, it probably needed a couple of months smoothing out and subbing down.

So why did i rush to send it out? Well, so much of life is about timing. On the exact day that I finished the first draft a convoy was attacked in Quetta in Pakistan. The way the newspapers described the real life story, it had happened in almost the exact place and the same way I had written a scene in my manuscript.

Last week I finished the first, slightly less rough and ready, draft of Helter Skelter. Much of the plot centres around a security threat caused by a hijacked US drone. And guess what? That’s exactly what’s in the headlines this morning.

Strange coincidence, or good research? I’ll leave you to decide!

I’ll link to a passage from Helter Skelter later.

Quetta Attack from china.org.cn

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 4, 2012 by in Afghanistan, My Books, Research, Writing.
