leestoneauthor

It is all very well to be able to write books, but can you wiggle your ears?

Build it and they will come.

One thing is surely true in the digital age: content is king. I find that reassuring. I was once in a BBC seminar where a manager was explaining how money would be diverted from programme making and into a development fund for new technology. One producer grumbled, “Now our audience will be able to hear utterly crap programmes in completely brilliant quality.”

Sometimes marketing men and technologists convince us that new platforms mean bigger audiences, but its as true now as it was in conventional media: you need to have a product too.

That’s why I’m excited to see the little community avatars growing at the bottom of my page. I really don’t understand how WordPress works and how to promote this blog, but as I’ve added a few extracts from my work and musings about writing, like-minded people have found me.

I think that’s okay isn’t it? The not understanding? I’ll put WordPress into a box marked magic and just concentrate on doing what I enjoy: writing.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 6, 2012 by in Research, Writing and tagged .
