leestoneauthor

It is all very well to be able to write books, but can you wiggle your ears?

Celebrate your procrastination.

Do you know what would freak me out? Being able to sit down, switch on my computer, and instantly begin to bash out thousands of brilliant words. That never happens, because it isn’t supposed to happen. Good writing needs pace and mood and control; things which take a while to conjour up.

Procrastination is a process of negotiation between your concious self and the writer lurking somewhere within. It’s the gradual transition between the place that your at and the place where the story is waiting. The waiting time between reality and fantasy.

So stop beating yourself up about it. Procrastinate. Get comfortable. Enjoy the diversions. Eventually words will come. And as Shakespeare put it, when the seldom come they wished for come, and nothing pleaseth like rare accidents.

1. Play games. Nothing too taxing. I enjoy Age of Empires and stick cricket as they both encourage me to switch my concious brain off.

2. Making tea. Or coffee. Or G&T.

3. Being creative in a different way at the Halfbakery. I’m [fishrat] on that site.

4. Blogging. Enough said.

5. Leafing through rightmove to encourage myself towards publication.

6. Checking my bank account and frightening myself towards publication.

7. Reading blogs

8. Making photoshop art.

Eventually, my mind settles down and my story bubbles to the surface. So what do you do while you’re waiting for words?

One comment on “Celebrate your procrastination.

  1. dylanhearn
    December 14, 2012

    I’ve spent many hours playing stick cricket, getting way too much pleasure playing as England and beating Australia again, and again, and again.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 12, 2012 by in Books, My Books, Research, Writing and tagged , , , , .
