leestoneauthor

It is all very well to be able to write books, but can you wiggle your ears?

Today seems like a good day for my favorite Mandela quotes.

Today, I’m thinking about Nelson Mandela, a great leader, skilful orator and eloquent writer.

Nelson Mandela

1. “No one is born hating another person because of the color of his skin, or his background, or his religion. People must learn to hate, and if they can learn to hate, they can be taught to love, for love comes more naturally to the human heart than its opposite.”

2. “Resentment is like drinking poison and then hoping it will kill your enemies.”

3. “It always seems impossible until it’s done.”

4. “I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.”

5. “It is said that no one truly knows a nation until one has been inside its jails. A nation should not be judged by how it treats its highest citizens, but its lowest ones.”

6. “I am not a saint, unless you think of a saint as a sinner who keeps on trying.”

7. “For to be free is not merely to cast off one’s chains, but to live in a way that respects and enhances the freedom of others.”

8. “A winner is a dreamer who never gives up”

9. “Sometimes it falls upon a generation to be great, you can be that generation”

10. “I had no epiphany, no singular revelation, no moment of truth, but a steady accumulation of a thousand slights, a thousand indignities and a thousand unremembered moments produced in me an anger, a rebelliousness, a desire to fight the system that imprisoned my people. There was no particular day on which I said, Henceforth I will devote myself to the liberation of my people; instead, I simply found myself doing so, and could not do otherwise.”

One comment on “Today seems like a good day for my favorite Mandela quotes.

  1. steptothegoodlife
    June 8, 2013

    “A winner is a dreamer who never gives up”- I love this one! Great blog!

    Check my blog, you might like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 8, 2013 by in General Stuff, inspiration, media, Research, Writing and tagged , , , , .
